I”ll have what she’s having…

A little cup of joe before I blog! Mmm.

One WHOLE day of EATING,

EXERCISING

and

NAPPING

(just kidding, although a nap sounds nice).

What can I say I was in a sharing mood, maybe it was the fact that:

  • We had sunshine in NY two whole days this week (you know I tried on my entire spring wardrobe thinking I could get away with a sundress->scary pale!).
  • Or perhaps it’s because my body was loaded up with Vitamin D and “good mood” was oozing out of me.
  • Or it was the result of multiple chats this week (I”ll chat with anyone about food) especially on twitter & facebook

With each word coming out of my mouth and always forgetting to document all my ideas -> I’d forget to blog-> then one big blog post (like this one) appears.

Isn’t this why I’m a blogger?

Anyway, I thought it would be fun to shift gears and introduce you to what a typical (I use that term loosely) day of FOOD looks like (no midnight snacking here, but sometimes one gets peckish). Mind you this is just one day and I don’t eat the same foods daily (as you shouldn’t-CLICK HERE if you NEED HELP).

SO, “What do I EAT all day long?”

(NOT NACHOS or HOT DOGS!)

In general there are no counting of things like calories, but YOU should pay attention to what’s going in your pie hole, so eating snickers bars and Ben & Jerry’s ice cream is NOT GOOD (stating the obvious, but perhaps you need a clearer understanding-> (CLICK HERE-a calorie is a calorie was a good read).

Let’s start with my favorite meal of the day….BREAKFAST!

Which by the way breakfast for dinner Wednesdays was the best! (Thanks Mom).

Coconutty!

BREAKFAST:

8:00 am ish?

COCONUT BANANA OATS

(yeah I did-and your sooo welcome!)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 cup uncooked whole oats (I actually used Coach’s Oats-they were kind enough to send me some samples, it’s a quick cooking oatmeal that’s a hybrid of whole oats and steel cut oats, love em, not sold in stores yet, but CHECK THEM OUT).
  • 3/4 cup vanilla, unsweetened almond milk (or alternative)
  • 1 tsp or so molasses (yup, natural sweetener and for those who dodge the meat molasses is a great source or Iron)
  • 1/2 banana-mashed up (make a mess, I just squished it up with my hands)
  • 1-2 teaspoons, unsweetened coconut flakes (eh, why measure)
  • 1 teaspoon coconut extract (whole foods stores usually sell the natural stuff). 
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 4 walnut halves or so…
  • cinnamon, to taste (load it up-its good for you-just don’t spill it!)

METHODS:

Mix it all up in a big mug or bowl (accept the coconut flakes), microwave for 3-4 minutes (watch out, do not blow it up). Top with coconut flakes and ENJOY!

NEXT!

Portabello cap Sammy!

LUNCH:

12:00 pm

AVOCADOEY EGGS on a PORTABELLO MUSHROOM CAP=Sandwich!

(Totally came up with this out of the blue)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 hard-boiled eggs
  • 2 tablespoons avocado (maybe a lil more)
  • 2 teaspoons honey dijon mustard (or more, personal taste)
  • fresh ground pepper (to taste)
  • 2-3 teaspoons rice vinegar
  • spinach or other greens (small amount)
  • balsamic vinegar (just enough to dip in)
  • olive oil for drizzling/taste
  • any other veggies you want to include? What’s in that fridge?

METHODS:

I hard-boil eggs on Sunday nights for the week, it makes my life a lot easier so I can grab them on the run or make them into a sandwich.

Eggs in white water rapids...just a fun shot of "Humpty."

  • Mash or slice eggs (love my egg slicer, I knew there was a reason I registered for that) and mush around with the avocado, add mustard, rice vinegar, pepper and any other  spices you like (I love turmeric (CLICK for another recipe), cayenne pepper and a little sriracha (CLICK for another recipe). Apparently I like to sweat when I eat. 
  • Set aside. 
  • Heat a nonstick fry pan on medium heat. Add a lil bit of olive oil.
  • Meanwhile cut the nubs off the portabello caps and allow them to take a dip in some balsamic vinegar (yes, this is kind of messy). Place both caps in the heated pan (I did not measure too well, one of the caps was trying to jump out).  Cook about 4 minutes on each side. (Alternatively, use a George Foreman Grill for those cool grill marks).

A shroom takes a dip in some vinegar

  • Remove from pan and place on a plate.
  • Top one cap with greens (Oh, wish I had arugula), delicately place the avocado egg mash on top, then drizzle sriracha (I cannot believe I forgot it), or a some spices of your choice, then smush the second mushroom cap on top->There you have it. 
  • I served it up alongside some super sweet organic cherry tomatoes, which need no dressing. Just a sweet little veggie that bursts in your mouth.

Mmmmmmm

NOTE: The balsamic vinegar ended up being a bit messy and got all over my hands when trying to eat it as a sandwich, I ended up using a fork and knife. You can dodge the vinegar all together and just heat the caps in olive oil if you like.

SNACK:

2:30 pm

BANILLA PROTEIN SHAKE! (no pic cause I drank it so fast, but I”ll add one later!)

Mmmmm…favorite time of the day

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 scoops Bourbon Vanilla (Teras Whey protein powder)
  • 4 ice cubes (more or less pending on your desired texture)
  • 4 ounces unsweetened, vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 teaspoon coconut extract (optional and oh yes, there was an obvious theme today-someone likes coconut)
  • 1 Tablespoon chia seeds or flaxseed (ground in coffee grinder-optional)

PROTEIN!

METHODS:

Place all ingredients in a blender. Whip it up and sip the good stuff! This is a favorite of mine right after a workout!

WORKOUT TIME!

4:00 pm

45-60 minutes moderate to high intensity cardio! 

What does MODERATE to HIGH intensity mean? READ HERE.

NEXT!!

Perhaps I had a scoop(s) of this…

Just a lil bit...I think Im in the spoon reflection...amateur move! Oh well.


I have no idea how it made its way into this blog post, but I am a REAL person ya know! Dietitian or not, once and awhile a girl needs a lil NUTELLA! Although I heard about this RAWTELLA i’d like to try from Andrea @I’mwaytoobusy.

DINNER:

7:00 pm

THAI INFUSED GARBANZOS!

Guess what? This post became rediculously LONNNGGG and I decided you’ll just have to COME BACK for the recipe at another time.

WHAT A TEASE!

By the way, in case you missed my guest post on Eating Made Easy, I made some rockin baked banana chips!

Sweet and Crunchy (or chewy)

  ENJOY!

In your OPINION, what is the most challenging MEAL, TIME, or general HEALTHY LIVING CHALLENGE?

Do you have A QUICK GO TO MEAL or SNACK?


33 thoughts on “I”ll have what she’s having…

  1. Pingback: A Green Cocktail | A Girl and Her Carrot

  2. Hi! I came here through Marie Forleo’s blog & video! I love your blog – your photography is gorgeous, and your recipe ideas are so inspiring! Amazing!!! I’m really enjoying myself here & just wanted to say that I think you have a great blog!

    • Hi Linnea,
      I am beyond excited to have you visit my blog from Marie’s video and your reaction to what I do here is exactly why I love doing it. Glad you are enjoying yourself and thank you for leaving a thoughtful comment! There will be changes soon! 😉

  3. As a mushroom addict, I’m in love with the Portobello sandwich! Such a great idea. I can make it Clean approved by omiting the eggs 😀

  4. your food looks amazing I loveeee portobello mushroom sandwiches yummm breakfast is usually my most challenging meal because I love it so much but during the week I go to they gym early in the morning and have to grab it on the go!

  5. Thanks for the mention! One of us is going to have to actually try that Rawtella one day 😉 By the way, I hate mushrooms and that sandwich looks fab! Must be the “beets” effect!

  6. Love this post!! I always plan out my meals for the day, and am always bringing containers of fresh food to work. My quick-go-to snack is ham or turkey rolled around a cheese stick, or a corn tortilla with canned black beans, cumin, chili powder, cayenne, few pieces of spinach, and some mozzarella cheese, microwaved and dipped in salsa… mmm.

    • HI Margaret,
      Thank YOU for taking time to check it out, it is only a glimpse and I did realize that cooking, eating, and photographing, then editing…PHEW! I have a deeper appreciation for the process of food blogging, even though my heart goes into each and every post, this was a doozy! Try the portabello caps! Even by themselves and drizzle some goat cheese on top or melt a slice or two of alpine lace cheese! Hungry?

  7. i LOVE the portabella sammie idea!!! 😀 my hardes time is around 4pm when I come home from work and all i want to do… is snack! my go-to snacks are baby tomatoes, unsweetened applesauce, cut up veggies, almond butter if i need protein hehe, green juice. 😉

  8. First of all – nutella is the BEST. It has probably been over a year since I have had any. perhaps I will treat myself to some soon. Or maybe the rawtella?

    I have two quick go-to meals. One is shakeology (recently that has been 1 pack greenberry+1ish cup of strawberry banana v8 + 6-7 ice cubes= tastes like candy) and the other is chicken cattiatorie (even though I cant spell it – I CAN make it). or even just vegetable cattiatorie. You know, onions, bell peppers, tomatos cooked up in chicken broth with lots of spices and served over quinoa or pasta. Takes about 10 minutes to prepare (less if using frozen veggies) and then just simmers for 20 minutes or so. mmmmm

    • Hey Ashley!
      You’re so buying RAWTELLA later! Oh, I’ll have to try that chicken recipe for the hubs, I love that you serve it over quinoa! Great, simple and healthy recipe! Thank You for sharing!

Intelligent Thoughts by Smart People