WATER, Beyond the Tap…

HOW MUCH WATER ARE YOU DRINKING IN A DAY? QUICK, WRITE IT DOWN.

ZILCH?

GO GET SOME NOW! DON’T WORRY, I’LL BE HERE WHEN YOU GET BACK…

If you’ve had 4 cups of coffee today (you know who you are) then it’s time to start swapping. Never assume you have to “cut the caffeine” all in one shot. Instead, try cutting the amount you’re having NOW in HALF. The panic attack you just had from the abscence of the 5th cup of joe will dwindle shortly.

Think of CLEAR liquids!

NO… soda is not clear, Oh and I am NOT referring to VODKA.

Water is like white rice, it’s drab when left alone. So, I adore you all and want you to hydrate.

I’ve come up with some clever ideas to make that stale glass of water into a potpourri of sorts.

juicy orange

FRUIT, NOT JUST FOR PIES.

Add slices of fruit to water or squeeze the living daylights out of an orange for some fresh juice. Better yet, smash fruit and add! Blueberries, Strawberries, Raspberries (when they’re in season they’ll be a nice treat.

I’m a HUGE fan of lime + pomegranates + seltzer water.

Take some pom arils...

Then smash then up (wear an apron, and definitely NO WHITE!)

Add a fizzie water + lime wedges!

Booze free cocktail!

ICE CUBES.

Make a tray of ice cubes using fresh mint leaves, grated ginger + orange juice, pomegranate juice, tea! Once set, drop the cubes in your drink so they join merrily in the glass and boost the flavor! Sorry, no pics of these yet, ice cubes take time!

IMITATE A SPA EXPERIENCE

Ever notice that most if not all spas and the occasional fancy fitness center will perk up their H20 with cucumber slices?  Yes, you can do this too, slice up a cucumber and combine with water.  Rocket science.

TEA TIME…CAUSE IT’S COLD OUT THERE…

Tea is clear, without the other junk people add to it (i.e. sugar + cream). Herbal, Decaf, Green….endless possibilities here. When it’s cold out drink it warm.

I squish some fresh ginger juice and add it for a spicy kick.

My favorites right now are Tazo’s passion fruit.

Let it steap steap steap...

Or Yogi brand green teas.

When it’s hotter than hot out make it iced, add some fizzy seltzer or club soda.

SELTZER, CLUB SODA, BUBBLIES…

Who said you have to take it from the tap? Upgrade the fizzy stuff with any of the above suggestions, or drink it on its own. Sometimes there’s sodium in there, but not enough to sneeze over. Or raise your blood pressure in case you were wondering.

A recipe to try: Gingery Cucumber Water

Serves: 2-4

Ingredients:

  • 2-4 cups Water
  • 1/4-1/2 cup sliced, fresh ginger
  • Cucumber, sliced thin (as much as you like, I use half of one and reserve the other half for a salad).

Combine water and ginger in a medium saucepan. Bring to a boil and cook for about fifteen minutes. Let cool and pour into a pitcher. Transfer to the fridge to cool more rapidly or add ice cubes (perhaps the cucumber flavored ones you’re going to make, eh?).  Add sliced cucumbers and SERVE!

Alternatively: Drink the ginger and water combo by its lonesome for a steamy beverage.

Do you have a recipe using WATER that we will WANT TO KNOW?

WHAT ARE YOU TIPS AND TRICKS?

13 thoughts on “WATER, Beyond the Tap…

  1. Pingback: 5 Kitchen Gadgets that add flavor, not fat. | A Girl and Her Carrot

  2. Pingback: GET Healthy… Starting NOW Part II « A Girl and Her Carrot

  3. Great tips about perking up water — especially like the ice cube tip, which I’ll try. I squeeze lemons or limes & refrigerate the juice, then add a little to the water I have with lunch every day. Sometimes, I add leftover juice from frozen berries that have thawed. But I’m ready to try something new!

  4. Love your blog! I am definitely guilty of not drinking enough water, especially during winter. Whenever I eat out, I get water and notice that I drink a lot more than usual, probably due to the straw, ice, and lemon/lime. 🙂 Will have to try your two seltzer ideas!

    • Hi Jessica!
      Thank You for the kind words! I think we all have this Winter=Less Water thing goin on. The straw makes a difference :-). I love straws, I should’ve taken pics with my plastic swirly straw (like I’m a 5 year old) I love it! Glad to have given you a few ideas!

    • Hi there! They’re still in season, typically October to January, at least in New York! I can’t wait for blueberries to be back in season, cause a blueberry/ginger mix will be quite smashing (no pun intended).

Intelligent Thoughts by Smart People