Spelt+Spiked Berries=Sexy breakfast?

 

Like a Fudge Sundae, minus the fudge? YOUR WELCOME!

 

Don’t judge those little grains in the pic…they’re NOT SOGGY, they’re chewy!

I really thought I was making a SPELT pudding. Instead I created a crazy new breakfast (or anytime) parfait. I’ll take it. Don’t think the husband will eat it, but he was impressed with the images I shared at 11 pm last night as he was hunting for food and only found a mess, oh and cranberry compote. Not quite the man’s meal.

A little SPELT 101.

What is it? If I could count the number of clients that have looked at me cross-eyed at the mere mention….but I’m here to encourage you to get over the fear of a new food.

Listen, It’s not as scary as dying your hair brunette and having it turn green, cause you’re a blonde (true story).

Spelt

Spelt  is NOT Farro! (Read this lovely article by Lorna Sass) .  Spelt is however a variety of wheat that is native to Europe being used for millenniums as a breakfast grain producing a chewy texture with a slight nutty flavor. Perhaps you stumbled upon its use in soups, salads, or in the form of flour in baked goods. I chuckled when I heard someone refer to it as a “hippie” grain.  I’m NOT a hippie, my dad WAS a hippie, but the grain does not a Hippie make.

SOOOOO…today we have a two-part process. I eagerly posted the gingerly spiked cranberries yesterday cause I couldn’t contain myself so link HERE.

NOTE:

This grain takes about an hour to cook, muy importante cause you’ll avoid breaking a tooth with undercooked corn kernels. However, expect a perfectly chewy textured grain.

I RECOMMEND making the cranberry compote while the spelt berries are cooking. Then you’re in a good place, like being on the beach.

 

RECIPE

Time:

  • Overnight for the grain soaking
  • 1 hour for the grain cooking + 20 minutes
  • ~20 minutes for the cranberry compote (depends on how fast you slice dem apples, ginger and pull apart your pomegranate)

Serves: 2 (depends on portions, say 1/2 cup each=2)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup uncooked Spelt berries
  • Water (Enough to cover the berries plus an inch)
  • 1 cup Almond Milk-(click to read an article I wrote) (substitute, milk, rice milk, soymilk)
  • 1 tsp. Cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup Yogurt (your choice, I had Greek vanilla yogurt on hand)

Pre-Prep

Soak 1 cup of spelt grain in a bowl of water, enough to cover the grain and then some. Overnight or for at least 8 hours.

Directions:

  1. Place the pre-soaked spelt in a large saucepan(cover grains with water, plus an inch or two).  Bring to a boil over medium-high heat.  Reduce heat and allow to simmer for approximately 40-60 minutes.  Don’t be greedy, these little grains need to be softened.  I actually ran out of liquid while cooking them, so you may want to add more than you think you need, no reason to be shy here.
  2. MEANWHILE MAKE THE SPIKED CRANBERRIES!
  3. Once cooked, drain if need be and add back to the saucepan with the addition of the almond milk and cinnamon.  Stir. Bring that to a boil and simmer for 20 minutes, or until all liquid is absorbed. I expected a pudding consistency, but this didn’t happen…and I also realize I could probably just have cooked the grain in the almond milk FIRST round, however, I wanted extra spelt for another recipe. Got it?
  4. Remove from heat, let cool a bit.
  5. Assembly line: If you’re using a larger glass then I did (which you should!) start with 1/2 cup yogurt, a scoop of spelt grain, a scoop of compote. REPEAT and end with compote!
  6. Impress people with some cinnamon sticks!

 

Spelt, Yogurt, Boozey Cranberries and Poms!

ENJOY!

Chefs Tips:

WHAT DO YOU ALL THINK? HAVE YOU COOKED WITH SPELT? ARE YOU A HIPPIE?

In case you MISSED IT!

GINGERLY SPICED CRANBERRIES

OTHER GRAIN ADVENTURES:

Chai Infused Quinoa Breakfast

Kamut (not commute) with Apple Compote

You’re probably a FOODIE-Gift Guide!


13 thoughts on “Spelt+Spiked Berries=Sexy breakfast?

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter & Pumpkin Pie Granola Globes | A Girl and Her Carrot

  2. Pingback: GET HEALTHY…starting NOW. « A Girl and Her Carrot

  3. Pingback: Ode to Farro « A Girl and Her Carrot

  4. Pingback: Yes I eat Pizza. NEW Q & A « A Girl and Her Carrot

Intelligent Thoughts by Smart People