It never gets old…Pumpkin two ways.

Next Day Pumpkin Yogurt Parfait=Breakfast Bliss

Yup, I can’t help myself this time of the year. If you read my post last year, you know the frenzy that happens in this household once October hits.

It’s as though the second I see an orange gourd my eyes light up and visions of all things Halloween and multi-colored leaves about to sprout amongst us simply has me beaming.

I grew up with parents that truly made this a happy holiday, my grandmother made my costumes and there were always fairs, parades and the eventful ‘pumpkin carving night’. (Thanks mom and dad for making holidays such a blast-however, you might’ve suggested I not wear the pink leotard with bunny ears that one year.) I’ll share that pic here once I get my hands on it. 

Anyway, it’s always a joyous occasion to find new reasons to use the orange mush (aka:pumpkin guts blended up). Last year I told you to just toss a few spoonfuls in your oats,or blend it up in a smoothie, or roast it in chunks and make a glorious salad.

This year I baked it, somewhat custard style, somewhat desserty. It’s got a bit of grains to chew on but a hint of sweetness (don’t expect super coconut flavor, I thought the coconut milk would stand out, it didn’t).

Ready to be roasted

I didn’t know what to call this, but it’s healthy. Nuff said.

While many of my posts have included Nutrition Tidbits, if you head over to the pumpkin infused oatmeal, I said it all there (about the pumpkin that is). This time, why not fun facts? Change it up for a moment.

Did you know: 

  • Pumpkins are fruit.
  • The name pumpkin originated from “pepon” – the Greek word for “large melon.”
  • Pumpkins were once recommended for removing freckles and curing snake bites.
  • Colonists sliced off pumpkin tips; removed seeds and filled the insides with milk, spices and honey. This was baked in hot ashes and is the origin of pumpkin pie-(I know someone is going to try this at home).

Creamy, Pumpkinny, a little chewy and quite satisfying


RECIPE(s)

Pumpkin Custard

&

Next Day Pumpkin Parfait

Serves: makes 2-6 oz. ramekins (I also suggest doubling the recipe and using a small casserole dish).

Time: 30-40 minutes baking

Equipment:

9 x 24 glass baking dish.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup pumpkin puree (note: use the canned stuff if you wish, but why not use the real stuff?-the pioneer woman does a fantastic job on the break-down of how to roast a pie pumpkin).
  • 2/3 cup light coconut milk (options here, like soymilk or almond milk)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup (or other sweetener, i.e. rice syrup)
  • 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice (make your own or McCormick does a good job).
  • 1/4 cup spelt flakes (alternatively use oats, or another grain-cooked)
  • a smear of coconut oil (optional-non-stick spray can also be used)
  • a sprinkling of toasted pecans (optional for topping-or try a sweetened version I used for my glazed pears)
  • 2 teaspoons crystalized ginger, chopped (optional)

Methods:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Using your finger or a pastry brush if you refuse to get dirty and place a little coconut oil on the bottom of 2 ramekins.
  • Place all ingredients in a bowl except toppings, and stir to combine.

Spelt Flakes add a little nuttiness..

  • Pour the mix into the ramekins.
  • Take a glass baking dish and fill it with about 1-inch of a water bath. Place the ramekins inside and bake for 30-40 minutes. (NOTE: you’ll know it’s done when you stick a fork in halfway and nothing sticks to it.

That's some good stuff. Huge forkful!

  • For the topping, toast 1/4 cup pecans in the oven on a cookie sheet for ~5 minutes (possibly more, but don’t burn them). Alternatively, toast them on the stove in a non-stick pan on medium heat for the same time.
  • Add crystalized ginger on top and serve it up!
Tips:
  • You don’t necessarily need to use the spelt flakes or any grain if you just want the custardy style of this dish.
  • Play around with sweetness, milks, amount of spices, etc.
  • I”ll bet a maple infused greek yogurt (I’d use the topping from that recipe for this recipe….oh goodness!.
  • Try the rice syrup sweetened topping from my glazed pears…

For the Next day Parfait:
You’ll need these mix-ins:
  • Crystalized ginger, pepitas (pumpkin seeds), possibly chia seeds, Fage or other brand of greek yogurt (plain works quite nicely here), honey for drizzling (optional) a cool glass to build this treat in and a hungry belly.

Honestly, this is perhaps one of the best post-workout treats I’ve ever whipped up. Hello Breakfast, snack, random time of the day->TREAT!

ENJOY! 
-Jen

What’s your favorite way to use pumpkin or favorite post-workout treat?


21 thoughts on “It never gets old…Pumpkin two ways.

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter & Pumpkin Pie Granola Globes | A Girl and Her Carrot

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin Seed Cooking Tips

  3. These recipes look so delicious. We don’t find these large pumpkins everywhere in Greece but merely butternut squash. I suppose there must be a huge difference in taste.

    • Hi Ivy! Well, if you recall my blenderized butternut squash smoothi http://wp.me/p15ytG-ri you’ll likely be able to make this exact dish using that stunning squash as well! I’d say they actually have a very similar taste as I’ve used or replaced butternut squash with pumpkin and vice versa several times. 😉

  4. That is SO cool! I’m allergic to cinnamon, so pumpkin is often over-looked for me…but I just love it! You have a terrific amount of flavors in here…I might get away with it! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Jen, this looks very delicious! I love Parfait of any kind and this one is very seasonal and beautiful at the same time. I can imagine the flavor..My personal favorite pumpkin dish is just roasted pumpkins with bit of brown sugar on top or pumpkin whipped cream instead of ice-cream..less cal. and less sugar but flavor is amazing!

  6. OMGoodness, boo, that looks YUMMY! Also, I love love LOVE how you make recipes for 2 people- it’s especially helpful for those of us cooking for one or two! (And sometimes you just want to make something and not have to save it for entertaining, right?!)

    xoCheeks

  7. Love it Jen! I’m guilty of using the can of pumpkin most of the time, so I’ll definitely have to head over to The Pioneer Woman and learn how to roast a pie pumpkin! Interesting fun facts-That hollowed out pumpkin with milk, honey, and spices sounds mighty good!

    • Hey EA,
      how much do you want to try hollowing out a pumpkin and pouring milk into it now? Ha! Roasting is just so easy and I usually make a double batch so I can puree some and use the rest in salads, etc. 😉

Intelligent Thoughts by Smart People