Wakey Wakey Eggs and Bakey

Ok, hold the Bacon here (Just cause I don’t eat it personally). I’m hungry! So I took a peek in my fridge and all I saw were TONS of veggies that needed to be used before they go bad! The horror! How many times have you found yourself in this situation..possibly numerous. I have all good intentions of making copious amounts of veggie based sides, salads, soups, and entrees during the week, then time catches up and schedules change  and one is left with soon to droop spinach. Speaking of spinach, I decided I have a pound to go through in the next 2 days before it expires!

My final decision was to pair the spinach with the controversial “is it good for you or not” incredible edible EGG. Humpty Dumpty may have fallen off the wall, but thankfully he fell right into my frypan. Eggs are such an amazing source of nutrition that there’s no reason to dodge them. Unless you’re allergic, of course that’s a special situation. So here’s what I did.

I unhooked my SCANPAN (fav pan, best investment ever) and drizzled a bit of EVOO (extra virgin olive oil) and heated it up a bit (Medium heat is a good choice). I grabbed TWO HUGE handfuls of spinach, it condenses so much that you can literally use almost a pound (I’ve eaten this much in one sitting before), chopped some tomatoes and tossed those in, chopped up some fresh mozzarella and tossed that in, then spiced it all up (LOVE SPICY) with ground Turmeric (a known anti-inflammatory spice with many medicinal properties) and Ground Red Pepper. All of this cooking together like one big happy family in my frypan until done (a few minutes I’d estimate).  Bing Bang Boom, lunch is served (or Dinner, or Breakfast for that matter). No rules.

Turmeric makes me yellow!

As a side sauce, I used Sriracha (hot chili sauce). Oh yes, the more heat the merrier. I think I burned a few calories from the amount of sweat this meal caused me to produce.

Serves 1

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs or Egg whites (4) (it’s a personal taste)
  • 2 HUGE handfuls of spinach
  • 1 whole tomato (any kind really-use what you got!)
  • Turmeric (a dash will do)
  • Ground Red pepper (a little goes a long way!)
  • shredded cheese 1/4 cup of your choice (I used mozzarella, fresh, 1 small slice and chopped it up)
  • Olive Oil (Extra Virgin is best)a drizzle or if you want a measurement-1 teaspoon
  • Sriracha on the side to taste (Trust me, a lil goes a long way here!)
  • HOT STUFF!

(I would’ve used garlic had I remembered, that would be a great addition!) Talk about food as medicine, this is one of my healthiest and quickest meals.

ENJOY!

-J

4 thoughts on “Wakey Wakey Eggs and Bakey

  1. Pingback: A Green Cocktail | A Girl and Her Carrot

  2. Pingback: I”ll have what she’s having… « A Girl and Her Carrot

  3. Jen, this is so delicious and we had it for breakfast. It could be for any meal though and thoroughly nutritious! Ed loved it too! We had it with toast ( Ed’s homemade bread of course ) LOL!

Intelligent Thoughts by Smart People