Banananutty Muffins

National Peanut Butter Day was yesterday?

I’ll honor it with today’s recipe.

I ADORE smashed bananas with peanut butter mingled together in my oatmeal or a toasted sandwich. So why not marry the two and create a muffins or a loaf, then use the leftovers (if there are any) for french toast?! Full out disclosure here, I used to write a little menu on Sundays entitled: “Jen’s Fatty McFatPants Diner.” Then I’d read the specials of the day to the hubs and get cookin. There was nothin healthy about those breakfasts! In fact items like chocolate chip banana pancakes, chocolate waffles, challah bread french toast and chocolate banana muffins all frequented the menu. It’s been awhile since I did that and instead I created a new healthier version of the breakfast muffin or banana loaf that won’t leave you with an actual muffin top (pun intended).

Highlighted Special Ingredients:

Flax seeds

FLAXSEEDS in baking? YES….it’s a must try. You’ll gain a nutty flavor. Once ground into a meal the seeds are an extremely healthy fat that can be used to replace a few items in recipes. I used a few tablespoons today in place of using butter. You can also use it to replace an egg (2 T. ground flax meal = 1 egg).  Do yourself a favor and buy a cheapo coffee grinder, that does the trick. Flaxseeds are to be consumed GROUND, otherwise they will not digest (trust me) and if eaten in copious amounts it will give you a bit of a belly ache so a little goes a long way. Note: Buy flaxseeds and immediately place them in an airtight container and keep in the refrigerator (they are a fat ya know, they’ll go rancid-BAD), pull them out and grind fresh when you want to use them.

Almond Milk: READ THIS if you haven’t heard of it, but I’ll tell you it’s gaining some major popularity these days. Use it in anything you would use traditional milk for.

RECIPE

Banananutty Muffins

Preheat Oven to 350 degrees.

Pre-Prep:

  • Place muffin tins in muffin pans (12) OR spray loaf pan with baking spray and set aside.
  • Mash bananas with fork or potato masher
  • Grind Flaxseeds (3 T. worth in a coffee grinder, set aside).

Grind the flaxseeds

Makes: 10-12 muffins (depending on how much batter you glop into each tin).

Ingredients:

  • 3 large ripe bananas, peeled and mashed
  • 2 egg whites or 1 egg
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1/4 cup ground flax seeds (buy the seeds and grind em up in a coffee grinder)
  • 1/3 cup creamy natural peanut butter PLUS 1 Tablespoon for glaze
  • 1/4-1/2 cup granulated sugar (I use HAIN organic brand)
  • 1-2 T. maple sugar (optional) (sold in specialty stores, health food stores)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened, vanilla almond milk (or alternative milk) (I added 1 or 2 more T. because the dough was a bit thick)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 cup oat flour (I use Bob’s RedMill brand)
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour

For the Glaze

  • 1 T creamy natural peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 T almond milk (or alternative dairy)

Methods:

  1. Combine first eight ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Using a hand blender (or other blending device) mix until well incorporated.
  2. In a small bowl combine last 4 ingredients and slowly add to banana mixture. Blend on low-speed to incorporate all ingredients. Batter will be thick. I played a little and added some more almond milk.
  3. Once combined fill each muffin tin (I used 100 % recyclable muffin tins-unbleached and chlorine free-CLICK for brand) with batter.

4. Bake for about 40 minutes until golden crust forms.

5. While muffins are doin their thing…make the peanut butter glaze by combining three ingredients, whisk til smooth then set aside.

6. Remove muffins from oven and using a pastry brush paint each muffin top with glaze. Bake for another 5 minutes until crispy sugary crusty forms.

Paint the Nutty glaze on top


Chef’s Tips:

  • Next day toast the muffins! Slice in half and spread almond or nut butter on them with a side of greek yogurt for a quick breakfast.
  • Slice them up and make french toast with them! You can follow the steps in this PB & J Frenchtoastwich, just don’t make a sandwich. Drizzle with Maple Syrup!
  • Play with the ingredients, if you don’t have oat or whole wheat flour you can use 1 1/2 cups unbleached flour or 3/4 cup whole wheat and 1/2 cup unbleached flour.
  • I’m thinking I might make a bread pudding if there are any muffins left!

Have you made peanut butter muffins, peanut butter anything lately? What’s your favorite use for PB?

ENJOY!

 

You might also like:

PB & J French Toastwich

Eggnoggy oats

Chai Infused Quinoa Breakfast

Article on Almond Milk

31 thoughts on “Banananutty Muffins

  1. Pingback: peanut butter banana chocolate chip muffins « The Cooking Channel

  2. Congrats on top 9!
    These look delicious, I love peanut butter and bananas. That use to be my breakfast every morning of high school swim season. I also really want to try and use flax seeds, I never have and I know they are healthy – which is something I need! I can’t wait to try out your recipe.
    When I bake, my favorite peanut butter item is either puppy chow, or peanut butter blossoms…so NOT healthy!

  3. Hi Jen. I added you to my reader and blogroll and read some of your older recipes as well.
    I love your muffins and the fact that you made them much healthier than they usually are. I also use flax seeds which are extremely healthy. Unfortunately I cannot find almond milk but I usually use low fat milk.

    • Thank you for the blogroll add! You are so sweet. The muffins are very low in sugar and high in fiber, so not what people are used too, but good nonetheless. Flaxseeds are just so good for you! Almond milk isn’t necessary, I just like playing with my food and throwing my own twists on things but low fat milk is just fine!

    • I am always happy to see that the pig in portugal stopped by again! Glad to knowI’ve succeeded in making mouths water with my photos! Thanks for the kind compliment! I’m so bummed for you having a nut allergy! Step away from the blog post. I promise to make a nut free muffin another time! All nuts or just peanuts?

  4. Completely agree – I love anything with bananas and peanut butter. In my oatmeal, sandwich, whereever! This seems like the perfect marriage of two favorites. Great job!

    • Caroline that’s hysterical! I love the term “armed with peanut butter!” My kinda food talk. Let me know if you try them. I found that I need to play with the dry ingredients sometimes….add a little, bake a little longer (baking is such a science!). ENJOY!

Intelligent Thoughts by Smart People