Sweetart Crispy Slaw

 

A Cornucopia Slaw

 

The definition of slaw in my mind includes the word “mayonnaise.” Cringe. I will never eat the stuff but no judgement if ya do. But I concocted a tangy version minus the mayo. One ingredient of interest here is the little green bulbous wonder known as bok choy.

You may have stumbled upon it in stir-frys, but today it’s goin RAW. If you don’t know what it is or think it’s a new type of hip hop move read on. Also known as Chinese White Cabbage bok choy is a mild, versatile vegetable with crunchy white stalks and tender, dark green leaves (Source: Food Lover’s Companion).  When purchasing choose bunches with firm, white stalks topped with crisp, green leaves.  Oh and GOOD TO KNOW that it’s available all year-round in most markets.

Bok Choy

Nutritionally: It trumps regular red or white cabbage in that it packs loads of beta-carotene. Health bonus? It contains a decent amount of calcium and is an excellent source of Vitamin C.


RECIPE

Serves: Many and can easily be doubled

* means see notes at end of recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 green apple, sliced thinly
  • 1/2-whole red cabbage, chopped and shredded
  • 1-2 bok choy heads, chopped and shredded
  • 2-3 tablespoons *tahini
  • 1-2 Tablespoons pure maple syrup
  • 2-3 Tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 3 Tablespoons freshly squeezed lime juice
  • Add-Ins (optional) pomegranate seeds, black sesame seeds (click to read about their nutrition)

Pre-Prep: Remove the outer stems and clean individually because sand sometimes gets caught in their base (that would not be pleasant to chew on sand now would it?).

Methods:

For the Dressing:

Combine all ingredients and whisk until it thickens a bit. Note that the tahini is a bit chunky and thick, just mash it with the back of a spoon if it gives you trouble. This dressing is meant to be played with, if you like a sweeter taste add more maple syrup, if you’re more into the tartness squeeze a bit more lime juice.

For the salad:

Combine cabbage, bok choy and apple in a large salad bowl.  Toss in the optional Add-Ins. Drizzle and toss the veggies with the dressing and place in refrigerator for approximately 30 minutes.

Chefs Tips:

  • You don’t have to use all the dressing, if you have leftovers drizzle it on steamed or roasted veggies, like sweet potatoes.
  • Toss in other veggies such as shredded carrots or combine with other greens such as arugula
  • Toasted Peanuts sprinkled on top would be a nice addition!

*Tahini-is a sesame seed paste found in most markets. It has a very robust nutty flavor. For another recipe to try using Tahini make your own Sweet Potato Hummus!

Serve and ENJOY!

DO YOU HAVE A DIFFERENT OR SIMILAR VERSION OF COLESLAW? HAVE I CONVERTED YOU TO BOK CHOY AND CABBAGE?

Another Must Try!

Maple Glazed Roasted Squash & Arugula Salad

or

A Very Veggie Sandwich


48 thoughts on “Sweetart Crispy Slaw

  1. Pingback: What’s YELLOW and EARTHY? « A Girl and Her Carrot

  2. Pingback: A Whopper of a SALAD! « A Girl and Her Carrot

    • Hey Nikki,
      I am so glad you like my photography, I really spend a lot of time and effort on choosing my favorites so you can all “drool.” LOL. Craving VEGGIES is one I haven’t heard yet (besides my own weird self). Glad to hear it!!!

  3. Even though Iove mayo, LOL, and you omitted it here, I know I’d really like this. This slaw looks so fresh and healthy. I never knew all this about bok choy either and I’ve always served it cooked (just had some last night for dinner) but now I’ll have to try it raw.

    Great combination of flavors. Definitely not the slaw I grew up with . Yum!

    • Not your mama’s slaw, right? I LOVE that so many people are embracing the BOK CHOY! It really is such a subtle flavor when raw but still distinct. So good for you! Now, can I rangle it up in a smoothie? Likely not.

  4. Pingback: GET HEALTHY…starting NOW. « A Girl and Her Carrot

  5. Hello just believed i would let you know some thing.. This can be twice now i?ve landed on your weblog in the final three weeks searching for totally unrelated things. Fantastic Info! Keep up the very good operate.

    • Hi Ray! Thank You! I promise the photos will continue to be mouthwatering…:-) I spent a day yesterday with a well known food photographer and the tidbits of information were priceless! wow! What fun!

  6. Wow, that’s beautiful! And it sounds wonderful too! Thanks for sharing, a coworker of mine made a cole slaw that sounds similar, she used cranberries in hers though. Not sure what else, but I’ve been trying to get her to turn over the recipe. Anyways – this sounds great and I may have to try this!!

  7. This looks so healthy! I love your fresh take on recipes, your great ideas are so inspiring 🙂 P.S. We nominated you for the Stylish Blogger Award today! Check out our page to see it. We love all that you do on your blog 🙂

    • You girls just rock! And the “cookie dough” threatens the thighs had my laughing out loud! My type of feelings exactly, however, it still doesn’t stop me from eating the stuff every once and awhile now does it? Ha! Thank You for the award, so cool and much appreciated! Now I have homework, huh? 🙂

  8. What a gorgeous salad! I love the sweet-tart combination in nearly any food. A favorite combo of mine is granny smith apple, blue cheese and dried fruit. My husband just shakes his head, but I’m in heaven. Your recipe is a similar must-try!

    • Hey there! Always nice to see a familiar face! Oh blue cheese and apples, and I”ll bet dried cherries! Yum. FYI my husband didn’t take a bite of this salad. Different palates that’s all I can say. Ha!

    • Well then I am honored you liked the post! I haven’t started growing yet (one day) or maybe a little herb garden in my kitchen will suffice for now. Play,Grow,Eat,Share….that all works! Sometimes I like creating and sharing more then eating…like a red velvet cake. Ooohhhh.

  9. I LOVE THIS! I absolutely hate Mayo too… it grosses me out! When there is mayo, i always think plain yogurt will do the trick, but i love the addition of tahini! yummmy!

  10. Ooooh, this looks delicious! I’m adding bok choy to my shopping list right now so I can try it out later in the week. Yummmm…. 😀

    Entertaining side note: my only experience with bok choy has been pet-setting a lizard (I think it was a bearded dragon). The thing was about two feet long from nose to tail tip and bok choy was its favorite food! lol.

  11. My goodness…I need to make this right now. I’m so glad that I found your blog. It is pitch perfect. Thank you for sharing such a delicious recipe. Your kind words on my blog brighten my day…I hope your weekend is full of joy and love!

  12. I so agree with you about the mayo cringe! I also do purple slaw but with a yogurt apple cider vinaigrette and sunflower seed. It makes for a delicious winter salad in between all the soups!

Intelligent Thoughts by Smart People

