Maple Glazed Roasted Pumpkin & Arugula Salad


 

  • First of all I wake-up this morning with a mouth drier than dry, hunt for some water, go into the fridge and see that 3/4 or my POMEGRANATE seeds are MIA!
  • I cannot believe the husband ate them! Those were for my salad!
  • I called him at 7:45 am, inquire about the vanishing act only to hear him laughing hysterically on the other end of the line with a reply like, “he thought it was funny.” Also, the pomegranate makes a fantastic midnight snack and he’d like them more often, Please.
  • I shatter. Bad boy! Luckily for him I had more! (he claimed investigating the kitchen counter to see 2 more POMS-hmmm).
  • I can look at this positively, of which I will cause I’m in very much in the Holiday spirit;

I FOUND ANOTHER FRUIT HE’LL EAT! Awesome!


THANKFULLY I HAVE AN EASY POM TRICK (Read HERE).

Moving along… I always bring something healthy to the dinner table for a holiday or family BBQ.

Remember my Holiday Tips? (READ HERE)

Only ONE burned finger, 1 pecan on the floor, and a HOT MESS in my kitchen later

HERE IT IS!

Pie Pumpkin

Recipe Adapted from Whole Living. (See original recipe)

Prep: 25 minutes
Total: 1 hour 15 minutes

Serves 4 (Can easily be doubled)

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup pecans (toasted)
  • 1 sugar pumpkin* (3 1/2 to 4 pounds), peeled, seeded, and cut in 1 1/2-inch chunks (you can substitute butternut squash or 2 yams)
  • 5 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 6 garlic cloves, unpeeled
  • 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes (this is optional)
  • Coarse salt and black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons plus 1 teaspoon pure maple syrup
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard (I’ve substituted honey mustard)
  • 1 1/2 pounds arugula (2 to 3 bunches, thick stems removed), washed and dried
  • 1 pound baby spinach, washed and dried
  • 1/4 cup pomegranate seeds (See HOW TO get at those seeds HERE!)
  • 6 ounces goat cheese

* Roast your own pumpkin!

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Spread pecans on a large rimmed baking sheet; toast in oven, tossing occasionally, until fragrant and beginning to brown, 5 to 7 minutes. Set aside.
  2. On a large, rimmed baking sheet, toss pumpkin with 2 tablespoons oil, garlic, red pepper, salt, and black pepper. Roast, tossing occasionally, until pumpkin is tender, 25 to 30 minutes.

    Roasted, Maple Syrup Glazed Goodness!

     

  3. Remove garlic cloves from sheet pan; set aside. Drizzle pumpkin with 2 tablespoons maple syrup; toss to coat. Return to oven and continue roasting, tossing occasionally, until pumpkin is glazed, 5 to 10 minutes more; let cool.
  4. Meanwhile, cut off root ends of garlic cloves; squeeze out garlic and mash to a paste with the side of a knife. Transfer to a large bowl. Add lime juice, mustard, and remaining maple syrup; season with salt and pepper. Whisking constantly, add remaining oil in a steady stream; set aside.
  5. Add arugula, spinach, pumpkin and toss to combine.
  6. Serve salad sprinkled with toasted pecans, pomegranate seeds and crumbled goat cheese.

    This guy's a jumper...five second rule?

Chefs Tips and Make it Your Own

  • Roast your own Pumpkin (Click here)-Thanks Elana’s Pantry!
  • I won’t lie, peeling that darn pumpkin proves to be a pain in the you know what, but totally worth the effort!
  • De-Seed your own POMegranate! (Easy trick!)
  • Substitute Japanese yams (sweeter than others!) for the pumpkin, OR Butternut squash, or Acorn!
  • You can use just arugula, I just like the combination of both greens.
WHAT ARE YOU MAKING? SHARE YOUR RECIPES!
HAPPY HOLIDAY!
-Jen-

10 thoughts on “Maple Glazed Roasted Pumpkin & Arugula Salad

  1. Pingback: 5 Kitchen Gadgets that add flavor, not fat. | A Girl and Her Carrot

  2. Pingback: 47 (mostly) Healthy Holiday Recipe Roundup | A Girl and Her Carrot

  3. Pingback: Peanut Butter & Pumpkin Pie Granola Globes | A Girl and Her Carrot

  4. Pingback: It never gets old…Pumpkin two ways. | A Girl and Her Carrot

  5. Pingback: GET HEALTHY…starting NOW. « A Girl and Her Carrot

  6. Pingback: Butternut Squash landed in my Blender « A Girl and Her Carrot

  7. Such a pretty salad. I love the combination of ingredients you’ve used. I could make this my entire meal. Love the use of roasted pumpkin, it would work so well the the goat cheese and pecans.

    • Hi Kristi!
      You just made me think, a nice addition to the salad would be some mung beans, or any other bean to make it a single meal. I could definitely eat a humongo portion of it! Did you make anything special?

Intelligent Thoughts by Smart People