Don’t just carve it, Eat it! Pumpkin.

Tiki Pumpkin

Not your mama’s oatmeal…

What I really wanted was pumpkin pie, what I settled on was pumpkin infused oatmeal. We carve them up and use them as Halloween decor, why not add it to your oats? I wrote about this on my facebook page last week, however, I had no photos to share because I ate it all and left no single morsel of evidence. So here it is.

October is a month of pumpkin overload, I get it. I admit to being one of the enthusiasts, I love all things pumpkin. There are pumpkins all over my home, on top of tables, draped from the windows (hence my tiki pumpkin photo) even in the form of candles. I’ve been a spectator at “The Blaze” where hundreds of the orange misshaped globes are on display, lit up, luminous and inviting for all to enjoy. I find the event a perfect tribute to Halloween and the Fall season.

Oats in the Raw

This morning I realized there was pumpkin puree (click on the link to learn how to roast your own pumpkin!) leftover in my fridge and toyed with the idea of making a delicious crustless pumpkin custard with it. Instead, I combined a few spoonfuls (no measurements here!)of the puree with my quick-cooking oats (quick oats cause I was in a hurry and my stomach was growling). My pumpkin puree and oats were joined by the spice that no oatmeal should exist without; Cinnamon! Here are some pics.

A little pumpkin goes a long way...

Nutritionally speaking, pumpkin receives an excellent grade. Boasting tons of Vitamin A, fiber, iron, and phytonutrients (natural plant chemicals that have protective properties) it’s an enhancement to any breakfast smoothie, salad, soup or stew.  The nutrition is in the “meat” of the pumpkin. While I did not carve and gut my own here, the pureed pumpkin has its benefits when you aren’t feeling Martha Stewart-esque in the kitchen. I hope my oats inspire your creativity with this traditionally carved gourd and you remove  it from the porch then move it on into the kitchen!

Orange, creamy goodness...

Fresh nutmeg

Serves 1

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup Oats (I typically use traditional cooking oats)
  • 1 cup liquid ( I use unsweetened vanilla almond milk)
  • 2 Tablespoons pumpkin puree (Learn how to roast your own pumpkin by visiting the link to-Elena’s Pantry)
  • Cinnamon, nutmeg and any other spices you like to taste (My favs are fresh grated nutmeg, and ground ginger)
  • 1/2-1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon nut butter (today I used maple pecan butter)

Mix all ingredients except for the nut butter in a microwave safe bowl (I use glass).  Heat in microwave, typically 1-3 minutes works. If you’re using instant oats 2 minutes is perfect.  Top it with your nut butter, mix it in.

ENJOY!

-J

2 thoughts on “Don’t just carve it, Eat it! Pumpkin.

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter & Pumpkin Pie Granola Globes | A Girl and Her Carrot

  2. Pingback: It never gets old…Pumpkin two ways. | A Girl and Her Carrot

Intelligent Thoughts by Smart People