Spinach meets Chutney meets Curry.


Who needs a quick dinner? Well, I did….and I often do. Just like most of you, I don’t have all the time in the world to be the goddess (or god) I’d like to be in the kitchen and since my new schedule has me busy a few nights a week (teachin yoga, not out partying-in case you were wondering) I’ve had to whip out some of favorite recipes that are “feasible in minutes.”(I love the word feasible). So limpy wilted greens got a makeover today.

Salads are simple, and that’s a WIN in my book. In case you haven’t met me, I don’t preach to the choir here but THIS salad did kind of rock and blow my belly up with fiber. I know the word salad sends the thoughts to 1) ugh, lettuce for dinner? or 2) YES, I love salad and anything beyond iceberg lettuce rocks.

Of course tossing in cupcake pieces wouldn’t be wise, but perhaps more veggies. Yes? It’s all about the add-ins anyway. Start with your base, then load that bad boy up with color, flavor, and texture.

Don’t worry, this is not a popeye salad with some fake italian or thousand island dressing on it.

What is thousand island dressing anyway?

So this particular salad has a unique twist to it. I used “chutney.”

What the heck is chutney you ask?

Well, it’s (pronounced: chut-nee) and according to the Food Lover’s Companion (total must have for the food geek), it originates from the East Indian word Chatni, and is a spicy condiment that contains fruit, vinegar, sugar and spices.

It’s texture ranges from chunky to smooth and the degrees of spiciness also range from mild (you sweat a tad bit) to hot (you likely lose weight from eating it-joking, but you catch my drift). It’s used as an accompaniment to curry dishes but can also be used as a spread or served with cheese. Mmmm, cheese.

Buying: You can find it in the condiment section or ethnic food section of your grocery store. Open it, then refrigerate it.

Anyway here it is…it’s simple, palatable and filling. Maybe a little spicy. What more do you need?

RECIPE

Spinach salad with Curry Chutney Dressing

Serves: 2-4

Time: Like 5 minutes…seriously. (You could do a few push-ups and lunges in that time).

Ingredients:

  • 1 bag (5 oz.) of fresh Spinach (or any other green)
  • Baby Bella mushrooms (optional, I had some on hand)
  • 1/4-1/2 cup chicpeas
  • 2 teaspoons grated fresh ginger (optional, totally forgot to do this!)

For the Dressing:

  • 1/4 cup chopped green onion
  • Tabasco sauce ( to taste-optional)
  • 2/3 cup peanuts (toasted is always better)
  • 1 teaspoon curry powder
  • 1 teaspoon dried mustard
  • 1/2 cup dried cherries (optional, or raisins)
  • 1/4 cup chutney (you could make your own-I’d decrease the amount of sugar)
  • 1/2 cup olive oil (or less)
  • 1/3 cup white vinegar
  • couple teaspoons of a sweetener (optional-honey, sugar, maple syrup)

The process:

  • Chop the scallions then set aside.
  • Toast the peanut for ~5 minutes in a skillet on medium heat ( do not burn!)
  • Combine all the salad dressing ingredients in a small bowl (except spinach, mushrooms and chicpeas).
  • Mix it all up.

I'd lick that spoon...yup.

  • Then toss it all with the salad greens (cause they’re now in love)

SERVE and ENJOY!

-Jen

I’m kinda genius thoughts:

  • Mix your greens up. Got kale on hand? Use that too!
  • Add other goodies to the salad, try other dried fruits like turkish apricots, or fresh fruits like Anjou Pears.
  • Serve this salad alongside the Morroccan Millet stew for a very colorful meal.
  • BONUS READ: We all love Dr. Oz, well I think most people at least trust him. So here’s an article about the benefits of curry and the link to Alzheimer’s. So add curry dishes 1-2 times/week and you’re doing the bod some good.

Have you used Chutney? Got a favorite use for spinach?

25 thoughts on “Spinach meets Chutney meets Curry.

  1. What great flavors to combine. I do like chutney though some have better sweeteners than others. I like it to tame spice. I also sometimes serve it with cheese sort of like a fig jam (another obsession of mine). Still need to make the millet stew, loved the sound of that.

    • Hey Lauren,
      I couldn’t agree more with you re: the sweeteners used in chutneys. Chutney and cheese sounds kind of perfect, I have had that at a favorite restaurant of mine. Millet stew does have a certain pizazz to it now doesn’t it? ;-).

  2. Why, yes, since you ask I do like chutney, and in fact, had some today. My {Indian} friend across the street has her parents visiting, and her mom {Noni} made me some of her chicken curry {which my son now loves} the other day. I had some for lunch today with raita from Trader Joes, and some Peach chutney I had in the fridge. Delicious! This salad looks pretty incredible too-saving this recipe to make for sure! As for spinach, I use it in salads, but also like to saute it with a little garlic and serve it with scrambled eggs and feta. Mmm…

    • Hi EA!
      How funny you had chutney today and how lovely you get to dine on real good Indian food! Oh I’ll have to stop by TJ’s and buy that peach chutney! I’m right there with you with spinach, saute, load it up with garlic, emerse your eggs in it. Now I’m hungry. Ha! Thanks for sharing EA!

Intelligent Thoughts by Smart People

